Bye Bye Baby

I’ve been a San Francisco Giants fan since I was 5 years old.  I got it from my Dad who has been a Giants fan since they moved to S.F. in 1958.  When my sister and I were little he would record us on his reel-to-reel recorder.  Somewhere at my parents’ house there exists a recording of my very young self saying “Bye Bye Baby!” which was what Giants broadcaster Russ Hodges would say when the Giants hit a home run back in The Day.

As Spring Training starts every year, I remind myself of this as I mentally prepare for the grind that being a baseball fan is over the next 6-7 months.  I remind myself that somewhere in my head I’m still that 5-year old kid and not to forget that sense of innocence no matter how frustrating the upcoming season gets.

Baseball über alles!  Only 14 days ’til Opening Day, mofos!

Thanks to Rich for getting this baseball geek thing off the ground.

Leave a Reply

